Let s Talk About Hard Things

Touching, personal, and inspiring, Let's Talk About Hard Things is a profound meditation on why communication can connect us instead of divide us and how we can all do it better.

Let s Talk About Hard Things

Let s Talk About Hard Things

From the host of the popular WNYC podcast Death, Sex, & Money, Let’s Talk About Hard Things is an invitation to discuss the tough topics that all of us encounter. “You will laugh, cry, nod in recognition, and by the end, feel like no topic is off-limits when it comes to creating meaningful connection” (Lori Gottlieb, New York Times bestselling author of Maybe You Should Talk To Someone). Anna Sale wants you to have that conversation. You know the one. The one that you’ve been avoiding or putting off, maybe for years. The one that you’ve thought “they’ll never understand” or “do I really want to bring that up?” or “it’s not going to go well, so why even try?” Sale is the founder and host of WNYC’s popular, award-winning podcast Death, Sex, & Money, or as the New York Times dubbed her, “a therapist at happy hour.” She and her guests have direct and thought-provoking conversations, discussing topics that most of us are too squeamish, polite, or nervous to bring up. But Sale argues that we all experience these hard things, and by not talking to one another, we cut ourselves off, leading us to feel isolated and disconnected from the people who can help us most. In Let’s Talk About Hard Things, Sale uses the best of what she’s learned from her podcast to reveal that when we have the courage to talk about hard things, we learn about ourselves, others, and the world that we make together. Diving into five of the most fraught conversation topics—death, sex, money, family, and identity—she moves between memoir, fascinating snapshots of a variety of Americans opening up about their lives, and expert opinions to show why having tough conversations is important and how to do them in a thoughtful and generous way. She uncovers that listening may be the most important part of a tough conversation, that the end goal should be understanding without the pressure of reconciliation, and that there are some things that words can’t fix (and why that’s actually okay). Touching, personal, and inspiring, Let's Talk About Hard Things is a profound meditation on why communication can connect us instead of divide us and how we can all do it better.

More Books:

Let's Talk About Hard Things
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Anna Sale
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-04 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

From the host of the popular WNYC podcast Death, Sex, & Money, Let’s Talk About Hard Things is an invitation to discuss the tough topics that all of us encounter. “You will laugh, cry, nod in recognition, and by the end, feel like no topic is off-limits when it comes
Go There
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Anna Sale
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-08 - Publisher:

Death. Sex. Money. Tricky subjects we're taught to avoid in polite conversation. Here, the host of a hit podcast reveals how to talk about difficult things, and why it might be the most important thing we do. In Let's Talk About Hard Things, Sale takes her quest for more honest
Let’s Talk about Death (over Dinner)
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Michael Hebb
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-04 - Publisher: Hachette UK

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death
The Long Way Home
Language: en
Pages: 189
Authors: Bethany Campbell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1987 - Publisher:

Books about The Long Way Home
Let's Talk about it
Language: en
Pages: 173
Authors: Allan Hart Jahsmann
Categories: Christian education
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998 - Publisher: Navpress Publishing Group

You've just finished dinner and it's time for family devotions. Instead of slinking out of their seats and making a run for it, your daughter runs to get the devotional book and your son asks if he can read it out loud to the family. Sound too good to be

Popular All Time

The Cook's Herb Garden
The Art of Raising a Puppy (Revised Edition)
How to Raise the Perfect Dog
The Ridiculously Simple Guide to Apple Watch Series 3
Zak George's Dog Training Revolution
Dr. Sebi Diet: Dr Sebi Cure for Herpes, Stds, High Blood Pressure, Hiv, Asthma, Cancer, Lupus, Diabetes, Hair Loss, to Stop Smoking, Kidney and Other Diseases
Juniper Bonsai Guide
Indoor Edible Garden
Dog Is Love
Essential Guide to Container Gardening; The Complete Guide to Growing Fresh Organic Vegetables for Beginners
Home Gardener's Annuals
Designing Your Home Using A Flea Market
My Zero-Waste Kitchen
Lead with Your Heart . . . Lessons from a Life with Horses
50 Handyman Supply & Fit Home Business Ideas
Home Improvement Projects for the Busy & Broke
A Craftsman's Legacy
An Eye For a Dog

Recent Books: