The Feather Thief

The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

The Feather Thief

The Feather Thief

As heard on NPR's This American Life “Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller.” —Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air “One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief. On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

More Books:

The Feather Thief
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Kirk Wallace Johnson
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-04-24 - Publisher: Penguin

As heard on NPR's This American Life “Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller.” —Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air “One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever.” —Christian Science Monitor A rollicking true-crime adventure and a
Pigeon P.I.
Language: en
Pages: 40
Authors: Meg McLaren
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-03-02 - Publisher: Random House

Pigeon private investigator Murray just wants to take things easy, but when kind-hearted Vee starts to sing like a canary (after all, she is a canary) he can't hold out. Murray agrees to find the feather thief who has kidnapped her friends, but his change of heart comes too late:
Birds For Dummies
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Brian L. Speer, Kim Campbell Thornton, Gina Spadafori
Categories: Pets
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-12-01 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Your one-stop guide to caring for your avian companion Pet birds are intelligent, affectionate, and rewarding companions. No matter what bird you choose, you need to set up a happy home for him with the right stuff. You also need to keep your bird healthy by performing routine care and
Animate Creation
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John George Wood
Categories: Zoology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1885 - Publisher:

Books about Animate Creation
Our Living World
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John George Wood
Categories: Zoology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1885 - Publisher:

Books about Our Living World

Popular All Time

The Hope We Hold
Soul Detox
Dream with Me
Woman Evolve
Winning the War in Your Mind
Don't Drop the Mic
The Pleasure of His Company
Fault Lines
NIV, Biblical Theology Study Bible, eBook
The 5 Levels of Leadership
Until Unity
The Women of the Bible Speak
The Study Quran
Jesus Calling
Heaven and Hell
Ansiosos por nada
Get Out of Your Head
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Job, Proverbs, and Ecclesiastes, Volume 2

Recent Books: